So now I’m a “cusper”

The other day I read this: http://www.cnn.com/2008/LIVING/12/23/salzman.trends/ (cut and paste; the friggin link gizmo isn’t working today).

I’m not a Boomer anymore. What a relief.

For years I was a baby boomer. Prior to that I was of the “the envelope generation.” The Boomer tag came quite suddenly, I believe, during the 1980’s when someone tried to invent Generation X and apparently didn’t know what to do with anyone born before 1964..or was it ’65 or ’67? All I knew was that for years those of us born between 1955 and 1964 were known as the Envelope Generation — the poor kids who were too young to join the party and had no “generation” of their own. (Yeah, the Boomers had sex, drugs and rock ‘n’ roll; all we had was cocaine, polyester, and disco, because you probably needed cocaine to wear polyester and listen to disco. I didn’t do any of this, so wouldn’t know.)

But of course we had a generation, even though we officially didn’t before we disappeared entirely and became Boomers. According to the media, we’ve had lots of generations — everybody gets one. There have been so many that we’re now on to Generation Why and ZZZZZZ. I suppose after ZZZZ we’ll go to AA. That will be the generation that needs its boobs enhanced. No wait. That started with the Baby Boomers.

Anyway, one day I woke up and I was one of the Boomers. Not only that, but I was one of the HATED Boomers who were just RUINING THE LIVES of Generation X, driving them to heroin chic, grunge, not eating for weeks on end, and wearing their jeans 26 sizes too big, which wasn’t hard because they weren’t eating for weeks on end. Oh yes, they didn’t want to work, either.

No, wait a minute. I don’t remember a thing about Generation X. I think I just described Generation Why.

It’s all bullshit, of course, but back in the days when everyone read newspapers, they had to fill up the pages somehow. Truth is, young people have always wanted to wear funny clothes, abuse substances, and somehow get away with not working. It’s just part of growing up.

If I remember history correctly, there was something about a “Lost Generation” — the kids of the 1920’s. I don’t remember precisely what that was supposed to be about. I’m thinking perhaps that everyone was supposedly so rich in the 1920’s that the kids were bored, didn’t work, and drank too much. Obviously history repeats stupid, over and over.

The Boomer tag was created during the 1960’s when the children of well-to-do post WWII families rebelled, wore jeans, smoked pot, indulged in riots, and didn’t want to work. Oh, yes…they listened to a lot of rock music.

Yes they were a little louder about it than normal, because there were more of them than there were of us or any succeeding generation in the West. And they were loud enough about it that every succeeding “generation,” no matter how poorly defined, has suffered under a stupid “generation-something” tag and a raft of vapid generalizations to go with it.

So anyway, now I’m no longer a Boomer. Fine. I never was.

I’m a Cusper and so is Obama. An astrologer once told me that people born in my “generation” are destined to save the world. If that is true, I’m glad to be a Cusper. But I have my doubts about the whole thing.

Like I said, I don’t think personalities or even overall tendencies are generational. I think they are more age-related.

But, whatever. Be on your way. Nothing to blog about here.

2 Responses

  1. It’s great for our long lost generation to have a name, but let’s be clear: cuspers has never caught on at all, while Generation Jones has already established itself as very popular with a national following. I’m proud of our generation and of the name that emerged for us: Generation Jones.

    Google cuspers and you’ll see that virtually nobody uses that term for the generation between the Boomers and Xers, besides the one person who wrote this article. Cuspers was proposed as a name for this generation 10 years ago when Boomers and Xers were the two dominant generations, but it never caught on at all, and anyway, doesn’t even make sense at this point, since now people between GenX and GenY, and those born between GenY and GenZ, are called cuspers.

    By contrast, google the term Generation Jones, and you’ll see that it’s gained a big national following…it’s gotten a ton of media attention, and many top commentators from numerous top publications and networks (New York Times, Time magazine, NBC, Newsweek, ABC, etc.) are specifically referring to Obama, born in 1961, as part of Generation Jones..

  2. I’m so glad someone’s reading this blog that I have too many tears in my eyes to read your comment. But thanks, anyway!

    Generation Jones, huh? I like it.

Comments are closed.

