Why does this dead guy keep talking?

Osama Bin Laden, that is.  There will be no real post here, because there’s no real subject.

Bin Laden is a character of little or no historical significance, and I’ll tell you why: he didn’t do much with his life except to make a radical transformation from spoiled playboy to alleged cave-dwelling radical (you know, kind of like Marie Antoinette playing milkmaid), and he’s been dead for a long time.  Possibly he died even before 9/11/01, although I tend to believe it was probably around 12/01.

The only thing that gives me pause about this idiot is that he was born pretty much the same time I was (late 1950’s).  It’s enough to make me worry about the entire Generation Jones.  We were, after all, supposed to be the ones to save the world, not to drown it in idiocy.

Still, it is pretty remarkable for someone to keep talking after they’re dead.  (Yes, the dead guy has released yet another taunting video and once again the U.S. news media are treating it as news.) 

To me it’s kind of like being sung to by an Elvis impersonator: you just sit there and roll your eyes.

