Memo to Robertson: Stupid Doesn’t Help

Yes, I’ve heard the horrible news about the giant earthquake and destruction in Haiti. Let me say I am not unaffected by it.  Anyone who isn’t affected hasn’t a heart.

Which leads us to Pat Robertson, who is not only missing his heart, but apparently also his brain.

I heard him mumble something on a video clip rebroadcast by Media Matters.  I can’t say I quite understood what he was mumbling.  It sounded something like Haiti being punished because slaves rebelled against their owners…you know, a pact with the devil.

Yes, that was it.  Absolute nonsense.

It’s the sort of nonsense that would take volumes to discuss, and I have neither the time nor the patience.  So I’ll leave it at this: stupid doesn’t do anyone any good.  Neither does Pat Robertson.  I’d award him another Stupid of the Day, but he doesn’t even deserve that.  He is beneath contempt.

Pat Robertson, if you aren’t Satan himself, you’re damn close.  Go to hell and meet your maker there.  Enough.

As for those of us who have functioning brains as well as hearts, we know what we need to do (and it’s what Jesus would have done!).  It isn’t listening to a mumbling devil.  It’s doing the best we can with what is available to us.  Let’s do all we can for Haiti.

Help Haiti

And because Robertson wasn’t the only one to go beyond stupid about this monumental tragedy, here’s Jon Stewart to set us straight:

Daily Show

 

