Sometimes you just can’t laugh very hard

Ah reality shows and failed politicians…

I never watch reality shows, and I sure as hell haven’t watched “Celebrity Apprentice” or whatever it is to see if Illinois former governor Blagojevich has gotten fired yet.  Nor will I.

Yet now comes the news that Sarah Palin is shopping around to either star in or produce a reality show of some sort.   Honestly, the parallels between her career and that of Blagojevich continue to be astounding, except for one glaring difference: he got caught, and even when she gets caught, she never seems to get caught.

And not only that, but Palin’s writing a second book. I’ll leave it to the Alaskan bloggers to make jokes about that.  All I have to say is that I wasn’t aware she wrote the first one.

As for the subject matter, I believe it’s something about celebrating American’s virtues and strengths.  This leads me to the subject of Blagojevich.  Why?  Because last night he appeared at his alma mater, Northwestern University, to speak on the subject of “ethics.”

Before you die laughing, wait a minute because it only gets funnier.  Apparently he had the sheer gall to stand up in front of a roomful of Northwestern whiz-kids and claim to be Gandhi, Lincoln, and Jesus Christ.  Or something like that.  And of course anyone who questioned his selection of Roland Burris for Obama’s Senate seat is just a racist, because Blagojevich is also, in his mind, Rod the Liberator.  God knows the U.S. and Illinois have never had black senators before.  Not even half-black senators.

The Northwestern kids flushed Blags down the toilet almost as fast as he could open his mouth.  I understand they made a good attempt to laugh him off the stage.  But the point is that even they could not manage to do it before he played the victim card, which I believe comes naturally to him — just as it does to Sarah Palin.

My goodness, are we now to believe that victimhood is an American virtue or an American strength?  Or are these two just playing it for laughs?  I mean, not only is Palin allegedly writing a book that is supposed to be about “American strengths and virtues,” but…well…how did Blagojevich get that “ethics speech” gig in the first place?

As I’ve said before, in Blagojevich’s case, it’s just pathetic at this point.  He’s obviously out of touch with reality, and even though we can’t help laughing, we know it’s kinda sad and mean because the guy obviously has a big problem.  He has nothing: no supporters that he doesn’t write checks to, no career, no political party, no future.  Nothing.  All he has are his delusions.

In Palin’s case, she still has (for some reason) some actual political support and a fairly good-sized, rabid fan club.  In order to regain a bit of the credibility she has lost with the rest of the world, I have to believe that her handlers are trying a new tack in appearing to be laughing along with her critics (which must confuse the hell out of her robotic followers, who have been programed to foam at the mouth every time she is criticized).  That accomplished, they can do real damage.

Trouble is, in her case, some people still believe the worst damage she can do is from behind a very large desk in the Oval Office.  I haven’t believed that in a while, but I had to admit that it’s too scary a thought for me to laugh very hard.

And so here we are, dealing with dueling alternate realities: Rod Blagojevich’s and Sarah Palin’s.  Blags’ is a total failure; Palin’s keeps being propped up for some reason.  I guess only time will tell what that reason may be.  All I know now is that both realities either already are or may be headed in the direction of that most unreal of outlets, the reality show.  At least that much is appropriate, almost enough to allow me to cope with what is not appropriate: Sarah Palin writing a second book, let alone the thought of her writing about “strengths and virtues,” and Blagojevich being hired to make a speech about ethics of all things.

I’ll try to keep my sense of humor, but sometimes you just can’t laugh very hard because you are just so goddamned sick of dealing with it.  And I believe I’m at that point now.

