Drop it.

Huffington Post

If you read that link, you know what I’m talking about.  I won’t go into it further.  Well, maybe I will…

Sarah Palin is finished, Hoss.  I don’t care what some right-wing loudmouth says.  Right-wing loudmouths don’t have a good handle on the truth, anyway, do they?  I mean, just before the election I had one snark at me that I might as well stop making jokes about Romney’s “binder” remark on my Facebook wall because (I don’t remember the quote directly, but here’s the gist of it) “if liberals think they are going to win this election by making ‘cute’ comments on Facebook they are mistaken.”

No surprise, it seems that every day brings an increasing amount of information on Republican vote fraud.  Day by day little bits and trinkets keep trickling in, mostly ignored by the national media.  But they are there, and you don’t have to dig hard to find them.  Reference my previous post in this blog, for instance.  I found that on YouTube, for crying out loud.

Why do I mention this?  Because I think if even half the votes had been honestly tallied in a number of “red” states, the election would have been a blowout for the Democrats.  As in, not even close.  What am I basing this on?  Well, if Anonymous’s claims are true, and they indeed did meddle in Ohio on the side of truth, then there may have been vote-tampering elsewhere that went undetected.  If nothing else, it’s awfully curious that two states with documented histories of Republican vote tampering went on to be scored as victories for Obama, in spite of almost incredible Republican smugness about having those states in their pockets.

Even if there is no legality gap, there is definitely a reality gap.

Yes, since the election I have come across crabby white men and a new phenomenon: packs of young-ish (mostly in their 30’s) women of the privileged class wandering about together in their finest clothes, snarking at and bullying anyone who is “not our kind, dear.”   So I have no doubt they are out there — Republicans, that is.  But I don’t think there are as many of them as we’ve been led to believe.

Which brings me back to Sarah Palin.

I still believe she will never completely go away.  She’s too much like Donald Trump, who is a similar hopeless case.  Both are attention-hounds.  They will do and say anything to stay in the public eye.

But does that mean they should be taken seriously?  No.  Only the people who take reality TV seriously will take these two seriously.  Palin in particular took a set of paltry qualifications (for Vice President/President) and diminished them into no qualifications at all just by opening her mouth more than once.  Trump…well who the hell ever took him seriously?  He’s a parody of a parody, a second-rate clown.  He has never been anything more.

I think out here in the real world, even most Republicans realize that nominating Palin for President any time in this lifetime would lead to a very, very serious blow-out — one that would make your average volcano look like a pimple in comparison.  It would be political suicide by wishful thinking.

I think it’s time for them to get serious and really talk to people.  They need to stop dealing with the public via platitudes.  I think a fair number of them realize this now.

Will they take the lesson to heart?  Remains to be seen.  Remember that in 2008 they “learned,” then forgot very very quickly.  And goodness knows the House has learned nothing.

But as for the Huffington Post, all I can say is that if they don’t want a reputation as the new National Inquirer, they’d better drop the Palin line right now.  Stupid of the Day award goes to that publication for even mentioning the idea of Palin making a serious run for the White House.

